International Green Awards entry deadline extension

The International Green Awards™, a leading platform for sustainability intelligence, leadership and innovation, is extending it’s entry deadline to 31st August 2012.

This year, the awards are free to enter and include a free sustainability review for all participants who complete the online entry questionnaire.  The awards are being judged by a global panel of influential and respected experts, advocates and spokespeople in international sustainability including the former Costa Rican President José María Figueres; former Executive Secretary to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change(UNFCCC), Yvo de Boer and Andrew Steer, President at the World Resources Institute (WRI).

In its 7th year, the awards are looking to recognise organisations that have exhibited leadership and innovation in their sustainability approach.  We are looking for organisations who are conscious of their environmental impact and have embraced sustainability with a macro perspective.

Organisations can enter 6 categories this year based on size and status, each of which will be evaluated against 8 sustainability indicators which should be integral to a well rounded sustainability strategy. These include energy, water, waste, resources, carbon, transport, supply chain and social impact. Participation is free and each entry will be given feedback on current strengths and future areas of opportunity to enhance their future sustainability performance.

Additionally, this year the International Green Awards has tied up with WWF-UK in a joint quest to find innovations in products, services and business models that can lead to more sustainable outcomes through the WWF Green Game Changers category.

Dermot O’Gorman, Chief Executive Officer, WWF Australia commented, “Receiving an International Green Award™ is a prestigious accolade for any environmentalist or environmentally focused organisation, acknowledging key achievements and dedication in the area of sustainable innovation.”

The awards committee is yet to announce this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honouree; a distinguished individual to follow our previous winners Sir David Attenborough CBE and Prof. Wangari Mathaai.

According to one of this year’s distinguished judges former Costa Rican President José-Maria Figueres “The challenges we face with climate change are not challenges at all, but incredible opportunities. In fact, I believe it to be the greatest wealth creating opportunity of our generation as we move to a post-carbon economy.”

To enter before the deadline please visit to register  and complete an online entry application.

To submit an application for the WWF Green Game Changers category, visit

For more information about the categories visit .

International Green Awards™

The International Green Awards™ is the leading platform for sustainability intelligence, leadership and innovation.  Established in 2006, the awards have a strong global presence, where over 108 countries participated in the 2011 process. Over the past years, the awards have promoted knowledge sharing and innovation towards sustainable outcomes and solutions.

Direct Entry Categories

Most Sustainable Large Corporate

Most Sustainable Medium Business

Most Sustainable Small Business

Most Sustainable NGO

Most Sustainable Government

Most Sustainable Educational Institution

WWF Green Game Changers

Open to a Public Vote

Most Responsible Celebrity

Nominated by the International Green Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Grand Prix (Overall Winner)

Press enquiries contact:

00 44 (0) 207 877 0631 Images available on request.

Publish your content with EB Publishing

It's about who you reach. Get your news, events, jobs and thought leadership seen by those who matter to you.

Most popular

Featured Events

Publish your event
leaf background pattern

Transforming Innovation for Sustainability Join the Ecosystem →