36 provinces declared drought disaster area

The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) has declared 36 provinces as drought disaster areas in need of emergency help, with 8 provinces categorized as severe disaster areas. 

DDPM Director-General Chatchai Promlert has revealed that 36 provinces in Thailand have been declared as drought disaster areas and is set to receive emergency aid.

Twelve of these provinces are in the northern region, ten in the northeastern region, seven in the central region, three in the eastern region, and four provinces in the southern region. 

8 entire provinces have also been declared as severe drought disaster areas, namely Chiang Mai, Nakhon Sawan, Phitsanulok, Phrae, Saraburi, Chanthaburi, Sa Kaeo and Trang. 

The affected provinces has been be provided with help from the Ministry of Interior and the military, with water supply for consumption and cultivation being delivered, while the Department of Water Resource has provided water pumps and filled up natural water sources as a form of relief for the public residing in the 28 provinces.

Thanks for reading to the end of this story!

We would be grateful if you would consider joining as a member of The EB Circle. This helps to keep our stories and resources free for all, and it also supports independent journalism dedicated to sustainable development. It only costs as little as S$5 a month, and you would be helping to make a big difference.

Find out more and join The EB Circle

blog comments powered by Disqus

Most popular

View all news

Industry Spotlight

View all
Asia Pacific’s Hub For Collaboration On Sustainable Development
An Eco-Business initiative
The SDG Co