Webcast on Wind: Doing Business In Mexico

Date
Location

Brussels Belgium

More information

Visit the event website

Event Type
Event Industry/Topic

Doing Business In Mexico

16:00 Brussels | 10:00 Washington D.C. | 09:00 Mexico City | 23:00 Beijing | 20:30 Delhi

Join Leopoldo Rodriguez, President of AMDEE (Mexican Wind Energy Association), and Steve Sawyer, Secretary General of GWEC (Global Wind Energy Council), for our ‘Doing Business In … Mexico’ webcast.

In 2016, the totally new competitive Mexican wholesale electricity market was successfully launched, including the first two long term auctions for energy, clean energy certificates and capacity, where record low energy prices were achieved and wind energy won a large portion of the assigned contracts. Even though wind energy has demonstrated high competitiveness, the technologically diversified environment has imposed significant challenges that this industry will without a doubt overcome, but it will require sound coordination from all the actors.

By the end of 2016, Mexico’s installed wind capacity will reach close to 4 GW from operating wind farms in different regions. Projects which are already contracted will increase installed capacity to around 6 GW by 2018, and additional projects in the pipeline will increase that to above 12 GW by 2020, in line with the national goal of 35% of the effective power generation sourced from clean technologies by 2024.

During this webcast, Steve Sawyer will provide an update on the global wind market. Leopoldo Rodriguez will explain the context, opportunities and challenges faced by companies wishing to set up their wind business in Mexico.

Attendees will hear about:

  • The growth trends over the past few years
  • Projections for wind in the coming years
  • The latest policy changes including updates on the auction system
  • Financing landscape for wind
  • Challenges facing the industry
Advertisement
Asia Pacific’s Hub For Collaboration On Sustainable Development
An Eco-Business initiative
The SDG Co